The Foundation Board of Directors is a governing board. It has fiduciary responsibility for the day-to-day operations of the foundation, including its financial holdings, endowment and investment management. The board meets 4 – 5 times a year to review the fundraising and administrative work of the Foundation’s staff, the Foundation’s finances, investments, endowments and budget, plan for the success of all fundraising efforts and to provide guidance, inspiration and creativity to the work of the Foundation.

The Board of Directors provide leadership through each director’s personal financial commitment and presence at significant events and activities for the Foundation and the Library of Michigan. Board members act as champions for both the Library and the Foundation within their respective communities. They recruit new members, extend personal invitations to attend events and serve as the “eyes and ears” within their community for ways that the Library of Michigan and the Foundation can better serve the citizens of our state.


Brian A. Hare, CPA, ChairPrincipal, Hare CPAs + Business Advisors

Dan Arbour, Past Chair – Library of Michigan Foundation

Kathy Irwin, Vice ChairDean of Libraries, Central Michigan University

Anne E. Harcus, SecretaryPresident, Stony Point Communications

Elaine DidierRetired Director, Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library/Museum

Lisa FarnumManaging Director, Michigan Association of Health Plans

Timothy J. Fusco – Retired, Academic & Government Publishing Business Executive

Martin L. Gibbs – Retired, Community Supporter

Mike GustafsonOwner, Literati Bookstore of Ann Arbor

Mary Hays – Vice President, Bank of Ann Arbor

Patricia K. HeadleyCDO, Library of Michigan Foundation (non-voting)

Rep. Donna LasinskiDemocratic House Leader, Michigan House of Representatives,

Roger Mendel – Retired, Director, Northland Library Cooperative

Kristie ReynoldsDirector, Bath Township Public Library

Randy Riley – State Librarian, Library of Michigan (non-voting)

Anne Seurynck – Attorney, Foster Swift Collins & Smith PC

Stephanie WilliamsDirector, WSU Press

For further information on potential board membership, please contact Board Chairman, Dan Arbour, at Darbour.apogee@gmailcom and/or Chief Development Officer, Patricia Headley, at or by calling 517-303-3085.